What Is NCAAA? Saudi Arabia's Academic Accreditation Body, Explained
NCAAA sits inside ETEC, not beside it. The hierarchy, the two accreditation types, the review cycle and what each decision means for a Saudi institution.
What Is NCAAA? Saudi Arabia's Academic Accreditation Body, Explained
NCAAA is the National Center for Academic Accreditation and Evaluation, the centre inside Saudi Arabia's Education and Training Evaluation Commission (ETEC) that accredits post-secondary institutions and their programmes. It sets the national standards, runs self-study and site-visit reviews, and publishes which institutions and programmes hold valid accreditation.
NCAAA and ETEC: get the hierarchy right
Most write-ups treat NCAAA and ETEC as two agencies that work together. They are not. ETEC is the commission. NCAAA is one of the centres inside it, and the one that owns post-secondary academic accreditation.
The confusion is historical. NCAAA was established in 2004 by the Higher Education Council (now the Council of Universities' Affairs) as the National Commission for Academic Accreditation and Assessment. When ETEC was created it became a centre within the commission and was renamed the National Center for Academic Accreditation and Evaluation. The acronym survived both changes, which is why the same four letters describe two different legal statuses depending on the age of the document in front of you (Saudipedia).
[NEEDS SOURCE: the Council of Ministers decree number and date establishing ETEC, and the instrument that transferred NCAAA into ETEC and renamed it]
Contracts, portals and branding say ETEC; the standards, templates, review panels and decisions are NCAAA's. ETEC's other centres cover school and training evaluation and do not accredit universities or colleges.
Institutional and programme accreditation are separate
Two processes, different standards, different panels, different validity periods. Holding one does not confer the other.
Institutional accreditation covers the whole institution against eight standards (2018 edition): Mission, Vision and Strategic Planning; Governance, Leadership and Management; Teaching and Learning; Students; Faculty and Staff; Institutional Resources; Research and Innovation; Community Partnership.
Programme accreditation covers one named programme against six: Mission and Goals; Program Management and Quality Assurance; Teaching and Learning; Students; Teaching Staff; Learning Resources, Facilities and Equipment. Separate standards cover postgraduate and distance education provision.
[NEEDS SOURCE: 2022 editions of both standards documents are listed in ETEC's forms index but the full text could not be retrieved. Confirm current numbering and names against the 2022 editions]
Who must hold it
NCAAA accreditation applies to post-secondary institutions and programmes in the Kingdom, public and private. Two eligibility gates in the Academic Accreditation Policies decide whether you can apply at all:
- The institution or programme must be "officially licensed and has graduated at least one cohort of graduates." A programme in its second year cannot be accredited, however good it is.
- The Center "does not consider institutions or programs that offer programs outside of the Ministry of Education's approved scope of activities." Licensing sits with the Ministry of Education, accreditation with NCAAA. Provision outside your licensed scope is refused, not assessed.
[NEEDS SOURCE: whether academic accreditation is legally compulsory for all Saudi higher education programmes, or a condition attached to specific licences, funding or scholarship eligibility]
What the cycle requires
| Stage | What you produce | What NCAAA does | Stated duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application | Service contract, application form, proof of licence and of one graduated cohort | Eligibility check | Not stated |
| Self-study | Self-Study Report, Self-Evaluation Scales, action plan, independent reviewer's report | Document review, panel formation | Not stated |
| Site visit | Evidence on hand, interview access, facilities | Panel of at least 3 (programme) or 4 (institution) members, on-site, online or hybrid | 3 to 4 days (programme), 4 to 5 days (institution) |
| Report | Response on factual errors; acceptance or reasoned rejection of recommendations | Chair finalises the Review Panel Report | "within two weeks of the end of the visit" |
| Decision | Nothing | Committee or Council vote, quorum at least 70%, agreement at least 75% of those present | Not stated |
| Follow-up | Follow-up reports; conditions-resolution report if conditional | Monitoring, publication of status | 7 years (institution), 5 years (programme), 2 years maximum if conditional |
Two requirements are regularly underestimated. The self-study must carry an independent opinion: an expert from a similar institution or programme verifies the accuracy and objectivity of your evaluation, and that report is attached. And you must assess yourself against key performance indicators "using internal and external benchmarks", with NCAAA's published national KPI averages available as one external comparator.
What happens if you do not comply
Decisions are not pass or fail. The policy book sets out five outcomes:
- Full accreditation. Full or substantial compliance with all standards. Seven years (institution), five years (programme).
- Conditional accreditation. Maximum two years. Triggered when any essential indicator under Teaching and Learning is rated minimal compliance, when more than 50% of essential indicators in any other standard are rated minimal, or when one standard is rated minimal (a maximum of two may be).
- Denial. One standard rated non-compliance (50% of indicators, including essential indicators), or three standards each rated minimal compliance.
- Withdrawal. Failure to meet imposed conditions, or substantive changes to activities, purpose or licence made without notifying the Center.
- Revocation. Fraudulent documentation, or misrepresentation of accreditation status.
Status is published in Arabic and English as a "full, regularly updated list", so a lapse is externally visible. Re-accreditation must be applied for before expiry, and is always a full review.
[NEEDS SOURCE: financial or licensing penalties attached to loss of accreditation, and any consequence for scholarships or qualification recognition]
Related terms
- ETEC (Education and Training Evaluation Commission). The parent commission. NCAAA is its post-secondary academic accreditation centre.
- Self-Study Report (SSR). Your evidence-backed evaluation against every standard, submitted with Self-Evaluation Scales and an independent reviewer's report.
- Self-Evaluation Scales. The five-point instrument on which you rate yourself against each standard, made available to the review panel.
- KPIs and benchmarks. Required numeric measures, each reported with an actual value, an internal benchmark from prior years, and an external benchmark.
- Ministry of Education licensing. Permission to operate and to offer specific provision. A prerequisite for accreditation, and a separate process.
- NQF-KSA. The national qualifications framework whose levels and learning domains programme learning outcomes map to. Bachelor's is Level 6, master's Level 7, doctorate Level 8.
FAQ
Is NCAAA the same body as ETEC? No. ETEC is the commission; NCAAA is the centre inside it responsible for post-secondary academic accreditation. Both names appear on the same documents, which causes most of the confusion.
Can a new programme apply? Not until it has graduated at least one cohort and is covered by the institution's Ministry of Education licence. Both are checked before the review begins.
Does institutional accreditation cover our programmes? No. The tracks are separate, with separate standards, panels and expiry dates, which is why a single accreditation calendar matters.
Who verifies our self-study before submission? An independent reviewer from a similar institution or programme with quality assurance experience. Their report is attached to the self-study.
Where a system helps
The software problem here is the evidence base: keeping programme specifications, course reports, KPI values and benchmarks current between cycles rather than rebuilding them in the six months before a visit. That is what a higher education ERP such as CampusOS is for. See our higher education solutions page.
Related reading: ETEC and NCAAA Accreditation: The Data Institutions Must Be Able to Produce (KB-004).
Sources
- ETEC / NCAAA, Academic Accreditation Policies (Policy Book)
- ETEC, National Center for Academic Accreditation and Evaluation (NCAAA)
- ETEC, Institutional and Programmatic Accreditation Results
- NCAAA, Standards for Institutional Accreditation, 2018 edition
- NCAAA, Standards for Program Accreditation, 2018 edition
- Saudipedia, National Center for Academic Accreditation and Evaluation (NCAAA)
